Skip navigation links
Family & Students
M. Ann Levett, Ed.D.
Superintendent of Schools

Savannah-Chatham Co.
Public School System

208 Bull Street
Savannah, GA 31401
(912) 395-5600

Driving Directions:

208 Bull Street
(Admin. Offices)

2 Laura Avenue
(Board Meetings)

© 1998-present
All Rights Reserved
Announcements: 2018 SCCPSS District Teacher of the Year Announced at Annual Gala


2018 SCCPSS District Teacher of the Year Announced at Annual Gala  


The annual Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools Teacher of the Year Gala was held Friday, February 17, 2017, at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. Fifty-five teachers were honored from nearly every school in the District and Cindy Jeffries of Haven Elementary School was named the 2018 Teacher of the Year.


The five finalists, Cindy Jeffries of Haven Elementary, Ansley Kornegay of Jacob G. Smith Elementary, Jennifer West of Rice Creek, Allison Wilemon of Southwest Elementary, and Letha Moore of White Bluff Elementary, were honored with video biographies of their work and comments from students.


The night was filled with great excitement as all teachers received gift bags from sponsors who made donations, and heard from guest speakers including the Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Thomas B. Lockamy, Jr. and Board President, Jolene Byrner. One of the key highlights each year includes the keynote speech from the current Teacher of the Year. Amanda Hallman of West Chatham Elementary will continue to serve as the SCCPSS Teacher of the Year throughout the remainder of this school year. She provided an inspirational speech about her experience and the teaching profession.


As a representative of the many quality teachers across the Savannah-Chatham County Public School System, the District’s Teacher of the Year is honored with the distinction of having the Flag of Learning and Liberty proudly displayed at their school. In addition to leading the SCCPSS Professional Senate for Savannah-Chatham educators, the District Teacher of the Year acts as an ambassador visiting local schools throughout the year, taking part in school board meetings and representing the district at various events throughout the area. Cindy Jeffries will also continue for consideration in the state-level Teacher of the Year program.

She received an array of gifts including a new iPad, the Teacher of the Year name badge, and a two night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown. Gifts are all made possible through the gracious donations provided by the contributing sponsors.


Cindy Jeffries holds a degree in Early Childhood Education with a reading endorsement from Indiana State University. She currently teaches 2nd grade at Haven Elementary where she serves as the Grade Level Chairperson and is on the School Leadership Team. Mrs. Jeffries also serves as a model teacher for the District's literacy program.

Congratulations to Cindy Jeffries, the SCCPSS 2018 Teacher of the Year!

Click here to see more photos from the event.


Created at 2/20/2017 8:46 AM  by Brittanie Odum 
Last modified at 2/20/2017 11:05 AM  by Brittanie Odum