Skip navigation links
Family & Students
M. Ann Levett, Ed.D.
Superintendent of Schools

Savannah-Chatham Co.
Public School System

208 Bull Street
Savannah, GA 31401
(912) 395-5600

Driving Directions:

208 Bull Street
(Admin. Offices)

2 Laura Avenue
(Board Meetings)

© 1998-present
All Rights Reserved
Announcements: SCCPSS Names 2017 Teacher of the Year Finalists


SCCPSS Names 2017 Teacher of the Year Finalists 


Each year the Teacher of the Year program brings together the top educators from across Savannah-Chatham County Public School System and in recent years has produced three “Top 10” Georgia State Finalists (Bettina Polite-Tate the 2011 Teacher of the Year, Melissa Webb the 2012 Teacher of the Year, and Allison Konter the 2013 Teacher of the Year).

On Wednesday, October 14, 2015, in a reception hosted by the Savannah Morning News, teachers were on hand to represent their school in the 2017 Teacher of the Year program. This year’s applications were reviewed by a panel of school district personnel and community members who had the difficult task of narrowing down the top finalists.

During the reception the top five finalists were announced by the current District and State Teacher of the Year, Mr. Ernie Lee of Windsor Forest High School. Each will now move to district level competition to participate in a month long judging process that includes classroom observations and panel interviews.

The finalists include: Sheila Lamb-Lindblad, Bloomingdale Elementary School; Melissa McCoy, Jenkins High School; Mark Case, Oglethorpe Charter School; Amanda Hallman, West Chatham Elementary School and; Angel Harlin, White Bluff Elementary School. One of these individuals will be named the 2017 District Teacher of the Year and participate in state-level competition.

The full list of the 2017 Teacher of the Year representatives includes:



Beach High

Melissa Maikos-Ptacin

Bloomingdale Elementary

Sheila Lamb-Lindblad (FINALIST)

Brock Elementary

Cathy LaCount

Butler Elementary

Brenda Grant-Stokes

Coastal GA Comprehensive Academy

Natasha Holmes

Coastal Middle

Tammy Kemp

DeRenne Middle

Jessica Johnson

East Broad K-8

Richardean Platts

Charles Ellis K-8

Jennifer Wolfe

Gadsden Elementary

Zeyna F. Winston

Garden City Elementary

Jessica Walker

Garrison K-8

John Tisbert

Georgetown K-8

Mathew Graham

Godley Station K-8

Roger Pacheco

Gould Elementary

Katie Holliday

Groves High

Timothy Brown

Haven Elementary

Susan Allen

Heard Elementary

Kathryn T. DeLettre

Hesse K-8

Becky Bethel

Hodge Elementary

Susan Carlile

Hubert Middle

Pamela Daniels

Islands High

Emily Graham

Isle of Hope K-8

Craig Hanson

Jenkins High

Melissa McCoy (FINALIST)

Johnson High

Lesley Condon

Largo-Tibet Elementary

Shannon Wood

Low Elementary

DeAngela Brown

Marshpoint Elementary

Julie Hahn

Mercer Middle

Jacqueline Smart

Myers Middle

Angela Miller-Singleton

New Hampstead High

Brenda Lewis

Oglethorpe Charter

Mark Case (FINALIST)

Pooler Elementary

Catriona Martin

Port Wentworth Elementary

Virginia Sample

Pulaski Elementary

Hollie Kinlaw

Savannah Arts Academy

Mary Summerford

Savannah Early College

Molly Hannas

Savannah High-School of Liberal Studies

Leslie Anderson

Shuman Elementary

Stacy Wheeler

J.G. Smith

Constance Buckley

Southwest Elementary

Sylvia Emerick

Southwest Middle

Cheryl Cato

Spencer Elementary

Stacie Pottenger

STEM Academy at Bartlett

Kaleena Jedinak

Thunderbolt Elementary

Christine Crawford

Tybee Maritime Academy

Tammy Smith

West Chatham Elementary

Amanda Hallman

West Chatham Middle

Alexander Roth

White Bluff Elementary

Angel Harlin (FINALIST)

Windsor Forest Elementary

Junea Scott Goldwire

Windsor Forest High

Tywanna Hall Barnes

Woodville Tomkins High

Bert Blocker

Click here for more photos from the event.


Created at 10/15/2015 9:15 AM  by Brittanie Odum 
Last modified at 1/25/2016 12:46 PM  by Gloria Brack